Event Detail

Jan
10
Thursday
Jan
10
Thu
Art :: Book Signing
Human Rights Book Club- A Moonless, Starless Sky
7:00 AM
Idaho Black History Museum
Description:
In the tradition of Behind the Beautiful Forevers and Nothing to Envy, this is a masterful, humane work of literary journalism by New Yorker staff writer Alexis Okeowo--a vivid narrative of Africans, many of them women, who are courageously resisting their continent's wave of fundamentalism.

In A Moonless, Starless Sky Okeowo weaves together four narratives that form a powerful tapestry of modern Africa: a young couple, kidnap victims of Joseph Kony's LRA; a Mauritanian waging a lonely campaign against modern-day slavery; a women's basketball team flourishing amid war-torn Somalia; and a vigilante who takes up arms against the extremist group Boko Haram. This debut book by one of America's most acclaimed young journalists illuminates the inner lives of ordinary people doing the extraordinary--lives that are too often hidden, underreported, or ignored by the rest of the world.
Advertisement
Age Group: All Ages
Venue: Idaho Black History Museum
Address: 508 Julia Davis Dr Boise, ID 83702
Phone: 208-376-4229

Add Event to Calendar: